A total lunar eclipse will probably be visible across North America tonight, just in time for the longest night of the year.



Total eclipse will begin at 11:41 p.m. PST on Monday, or 2:41 a.m. EST on Tuesday. So, if you want to set an alarm to catch a brief glimpse of the amber moon, NASA recommends 3:17 a.m. EST (12:17 am PST), to get the best view.

On late night December 20 or day December 21, the total moon will be darkened with the shadow of the earth as it passes between the moon and also the sun.

December 21 is usually the winter solstice, the longest night of the year, after which the changing times will begin to grow longer.